Two Short Poems by Tasmeena Maisha Ali

Downside of Caring

Please pain let me go,

Why must you be so cruel?

Do you honestly think I relish,

Being turned into a fool.

The journey is unpleasant,

It seems I’ve been ensnared.

Face the harshness of reality,

For which I was unprepared.

I sit and contemplate,

The twists of fate and time.

My life is now my prison,

Caring was my crime.

Sweeties

I heard their first words,

I taught them how to crawl.

I watched as they would stand,

And be there when they’d fall.

If they’re scared,

I will take their hand.

Should they face confusion,

I will help them understand.

My love for them won’t falter,

You’ll never see it end.

For I am not only their aunty,

I am also their friend.

Published by aprilgracewrites

I offer different services for writers so feel free to drop me an email at hookedonwordses@gmail.com if you have any queries about your specific project! I'm excited to get hooked into your story. I want to help you with your synopsis, cover letters and query letters. I want to help you get your first three chapters ready before you query agents, or before publication.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started